Stations of the Cross

Praying the Stations of the Cross is a time-honoured devotion that commemorates the journey that Jesus made in his final days to die on the Cross for us. Praying the Way of the Cross reminds us that life is a pilgrimage which leads from earthly exile to our true home in Heaven. It awakens in us a deep desire to be conformed to the Passion of Christ, and it reminds us of the demands of following Christ, that is, that his disciples must follow behind the Master, daily carrying their own crosses (cf Lk 9, 23).

This year during Lent, the Stations of the Cross will be prayed on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, March 20, 2019, at 7:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 27, 2019, at 7:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 3, 2019, at 7:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 10, 2019, at 7:00 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 17, 2019, at 7:00 p.m.

What are the Stations of the Cross?

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step devotion that commemorates the last day of Jesus Christ’s life on Earth in human form. The 14 devotions, called Stations, focus on specific events of Jesus’ last day. At each Station, we are asked to recall and meditate on a specific event from Christ’s last day. The first Station of the Cross is “Jesus is Condemned to Death” and the last Station is “Jesus is laid in the Tomb.”

Traditionally there are only 14 stations in the Stations of the Cross. But, here at Regina Mundi Church, we have 15 Stations of the Cross mounted along the northeast and northwest walls of the Church nave. At Regina Mundi, the 15th Station is “The Resurrection of Jesus Christ.” Pope John Paul II encouraged Catholics to use a 15th Station. The Resurrection of Christ reminds us that Jesus is the firstborn of the dead. Death is no longer frightening if we trust in the Risen Lord.

Church Photos - September 23, 2015a 020